Literature Research Guide: Mehta/Cook eBooks

Why do we live with pets? Is there something more to our relationship with them than simply companionship? What is it we look for in our pets and what does this say about us as human beings? In this fascinating book, Erica Fudge explores the nature of this most complex of relationships and the difficulties of knowing what it is that one is living with when one chooses to share a home with an animal

Examines the mourning rituals which exist between people and their domestic pets. Paying close attention to the changing role and increased prominence of the companion animal in the domestic setting, each chapter considers a different form of companion animal memorialization.

Features tips and activities to help readers bond with animals and treat them with respect and kindness. Includes crafts and training techniques to help readers connect with pets and animals in nature and on farms.

Examines the history of gun laws and restrictions in the United States and the controversies that have surrounded mass shootings and gun violence in the country. Discusses opposing viewpoints on the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution and what politicians today on both sides of the aisle have been debating concerning guns.

Explores the issues of gun violence and mass shootings in the United States, discussing the history of gun ownership in America, the gun laws in different states, and the arguments both for and against gun control. Includes sidebars and resources for further information.

This title in the At Issue series explores the new phenomena of anxiety surrounding the Internet that has developed with the explosion of social media use. Mobile-device separation anxiety, digital overload, and activity tracking are a selection of topics discussed

Approaches sustainability from a historical perspective and revealing the conditions that gave it shape.

Presents in a question and answer format information about how to live environmentally friendly including in the areas of transportation, water, food, and power resources. Includes resources for further information.

Presents a collection of essays discussing biodiversity and conservation around the world, the loss of biodiversity, its importance, and how it can be preserved. Includes tables, sidebars, maps, discussion questions, and organizations to contact.

Introduces geoengineering and how it could help and/or harm the environment on Earth. Discusses what ideas are being considered to stop global warming and climate change using geoengineering technology.

Included in the coverage: Impacts of military life on young children and their parents

This easy-to-read guide presents all the vital information on a range of eating disorders: anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, selective eating, and avoidant and restrictive intake disorders.

Teens who suffer from body image issues and eating disorders discuss how these disorders make them feel and how they face the challenges that go along with living with these conditions. Also includes teens talking about how they support their friends living with these conditions.

Presents a variety of opinions on the issue of dieting, from whether dieting is safe to the impact diets have on one's self-image.

Examines the contributing factors and dangers of negative body image. Also explores ways to accept one's body, flaws and all. Includes resources for further information, a glossary, and color photographs.

This book is about how you listen and what you hear, about how to have a dialogue with the sounds around you. Marcia Jenneth Epstein gives readers the impetus and the tools to understand the sounds and noise that define their daily lives in this groundbreaking interdisciplinary study of how auditory stimuli impact both individuals and communities.

Meet Harry - a young boy with sensory processing difficulties. Harry invites readers to learn about why he finds it hard to process sensory information effectively, and how even simple thing such as washing, dressing and coping with meal times can be challenging for him.

Briefly explores the history of video games and tracks the rise and increasing popularity of competitive video gaming and e-sports. Discusses how e-sports could be affecting and changing society and the potential dangers of video game addiction. Forecasts the future of gaming technology and competition.

Explores the effect video games have on children and the risks they face by playing for long periods of time, with the types of games they play, and their lack of physical and social activities.

Beginning with the structural features of design and play, this book explores video games as both compelling examples of story-telling and important cultural artifacts. The author analyzes fundamentals like immersion, world building and player agency and their role in crafting narratives in the Mass Effect series, BioShock, The Last of Us, Fallout 4 and many more. The text-focused'visual novel'genre is discussed as a form of interactive fiction.

A long-overdue consideration of an important topic, Watching Films provides an engrossing overview of how we do just that in our homes and across the globe.