LibGuides: Science Research Guide: Lifecycle of a Material Project

Instructions

Lifecycle of a Material Project

What material is used in the object?
What process does the metal undergo to become that product?
What countries have large supplies of this metal?
What countries have a large demand for this material and why?
How is it mined, refined, and designed into that object?
What environmental issues are involved in the processing of the material?
What other materials are used to process it?
How can it be reduced, reused, or discarded?
Where is it discarded? What are the environmental impacts of discarding this material?

Start here??

Aluminum
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to ALUMINUM
Carbon
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to CARBON
Copper
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to COPPER
Neon
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to NEON
Nickel
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to NICKEL
Plastics
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to PLASTICS
Platinum
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to PLATINUM
Silicon
Uses the Science in Context database to pull sources related to SILICON
Sodium
Uses the Science in Context database to find sources related to Sodium

Cite Sources!

NoodleTools This link opens in a new window
Cite your sources!

You can now sign in with Google! If it is your first time signing in this year, you will have to go through a couple steps to update your account (school, grad year, student user)

Finding Books

(ID # and birthday)

Look for collection named CHEMISTRY

E-Books

eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8

Find e-Books that may be helpful for your research!

Maybe these E-Bbooks could help?

The Chemistry of Medical and Dental Materials by John W. Nicholson; Royal Society of Chemistry Staff
ISBN: 9780854045723
Publication Date: 2002-07-26
Plastic Films in Food Packaging by Sina Ebnesajjad (Editor)
ISBN: 9781455731121
Publication Date: 2012-12-28

Creative Commons Search

Use this search engine to find copyright-friendly images or videos

Simply enter your search term and choose which site to search!

Use Databases

Science in Context This link opens in a new window
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8
Science Online This link opens in a new window
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8
Proquest This link opens in a new window
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8
Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
This database will search ALL of our databases. It is a wonderful place to start your research. Remember to narrow down your options using the limiters!
To find password for home access: http://tinyurl.com/pdwfba8