Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Social Studies Research Guide: Economics Research

Research Tips and Tools for Economic Issues

Use databases to find current and reliable information!

Citations are MADE FOR YOU! Copy and Paste them into NoodleTools using QuickCite

START YOUR RESEARCH HERE!

TIPS:

Start with a simple search (1-2 keywords)

Use limiters on left-hand side (scholarly or peer-reviewed article, date, publication, etc.)

Use an asterisk (*) to search root word and all forms (ex. Econom* will search economics, economy, etc.)

Links to recent news articles show up on right-hand side of screen

eBooks

Try these too!

Tips:

Log in using Google account to save articles easily to the Drive and get RSS feed updates

Resources split into types: global viewpoints, news, images, magazines, academic journals, reference, statistics, podcasts, websites, etc.

Citation found at bottom of articles and already in MLA format

More Databases to try...

Economics eBooks

Blood and Earth (ebook)

Author Bales, called an expert on modern-day slavery, noticed that where slavery exists there also seems to be a massive amount of environmental destruction. Bales investigated these findings and came to the conclusion that modern-day slavery is destroying the planet, and that modern consumerism is partly to blame.

Corporate Corruption (ebook)

Presents a collection of essays espousing opposing viewpoints on issues related to corporate corruption in the United States and abroad, such as Wall Street executive bonuses, the power of global corporations compared with nations, and the role of government policies in economic crises.

Race and Economics (ebook)

Examines how issues of race affect American economics, from segregation practices prior to the 1960s to society's current efforts to promote diversity. Includes text-related questions, a glossary, resources for further information, and color photographs.

Freakonomics (audio)

Uses economic theory to challenge traditional analyses of current trends in real estate, education, crime, and campaign finance. Explains commonly held assumptions about each area discussed and offers alternative causes for the effects described.

Heads up Money (ebook)

A fully illustrated introduction to economics that uses colorful graphics to explain money markets, supply and demand, goods and services, trade, inflation, globalization, the wage gap, and personal finances among other topics. Includes sidebars, quotes, a directory of economists, and a glossary of terms.

Economic Inequality (ebook)

Examines the economic gap between the rich and the poor in the United States. Highlights solutions that could help close the gap and make the American dream possible for everyone. Includes tables, graphs, a glossary, and color photographs.

Economix: How and Why Our Economy Works (and Doesn't Work) in Words and Pictures (Find this in-person in our library)

Explains the economy in graphic novel format, describes the difference between capitalism, socialism, and communism, the history of western economics, and the modern global economy.

The Food Chain (ebook)

Globalization has impacted many aspects of life, and the food chain is no exception. How does food regulation and inspection differ between countries? What can be done to ensure food imported from other countries is safe for consumption, and how can we make sure people involved in the food production process around the world are treated ethically? Readers will explore the many considerations affecting the global food chain

Globalization (ebook)

Because of its various economic, social, cultural, and environmental implications, attitudes toward globalization are ambivalent. There are concerns about the exploitation of people and resources from less economically stable countries and the destruction of cultural traditions, but at the same time it has allowed the world to open up for people on an international scale. It is important to weigh the many costs and benefits of this complicated issue to form a reasoned response, which this book adeptly supports.

The Wage Gap (ebook)

Presents a collection of essays representing opposing viewpoints on different topics concerning the wage gap. Includes chapters on whether the wage gap is due to gender discrimination, whether the wage gaps between rich and poor, and among races, are harmful, and if education is the key to reducing the wage gap. Includes a list of organizations to contact and a bibliography.

The Gender Wage Gap (ebook)

Explores the fight for equal pay through history and offers data on the gender wage gap in various industries and around the world. Includes color photographs, a glossary, and further resources.

Grave New World (audio)

Uses lessons from history to describe what the end of globalization will mean to peace and the economic order, and shows how people can avoid the worst.

The Innovators (find this in-person in our library)

Chronicles the lives and careers of the men and women responsible for the creation of the digital age, including Doug Englebart, Robert Noyce, Bill Gates, Steve Jobs and more.

The Affordable Care Act (ebook)

A collection of fifteen opposing essays debating issues related to the Affordable Care Act. Includes organizations to contact.

Foreign Oil Dependence (ebook)

Presents articles, essays, and written speeches with opposing viewpoints on America's dependence on foreign oil.

I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP! I NEED HELP!